Silence and Solitude

 

 

 

woman with cup of tea  11.17 am, Saturday morning. All’s quiet on the home front, except for the sound of the fridge. At the kitchen table, cup of tea on my left, cell phone on my right (can’t NOT have it close by!). The kids are asleep still. SWEET!

Being married with kids, a family of 5, is a busy state of being. Constantly on the go: work, church, homework, doctors and dentists. Trip to the dollar store to get bits and bobs for someone’s project. LAUNDRY, COOKING AND CLEANING! OH MY! Yeh, it’s a bit much, I’d say.

But Saturday mornings are blissssss…… No matter how late I go to bed on Friday night (or morning), I always pop up by about 7 or 8. Sleeping in went the way of the Dodo bird when these guys were babies, so waking up early is not so much an option, as a reflex. But, as I was saying: blisssss….Everyone is still a-bed, so I slip downstairs to make some tea and have a quiet breakfast on my own. This is an important point, and here’s why. Once any or all of them get up, I become Alice from The Brady Bunch. Taking orders and making variations of the same breakfast. One wants eggs and toast, one just toast, one wants eggs and ham. By the time I’ve made my breakfast, they’ve finished. And even then I can’t sit in peace, because there’s just so much talk and whatnot.

No. Give me a silent Saturday morning, where I can sip my tea, and look out into the backyard. Or sit on the porch in the summer listening to birds twittering and tweeting in my front yard tree. This is my time to size up my day, go over lists of things to do, or sit back and….what’s that called again? Where you open a book and you go over the words…?? Oh yeh, READ!

11.31 am. Hmmm. Still quiet. What do you think my chances are of making it to noon?

 

 

 

About Bella

I've reached my 40's with a few battle scars, but I'm still in one piece so I guess that's something to be thankful for. Married for a long time...well, what passes for long compared to many of my other friends. Almost 20 years. 3 kids: a teen and two tweens. Heaven help me! There's a lot about me to know but I always think that others won't find me interesting, isn't that sad? Writing is my passion. It's an outlet; it's a way to filter my world and the experiences I have. Blogging was a foreign concept to me when it first came out. But I GET IT now. It's therapeutic to unload. It's fun to read about the experiences of others. This is my way of meeting and greeting, overcoming the obstacles of time and distance. My hope is that you will stop and read my blog. That you will enjoy what I have to say, and we can have a chat. You're welcome anytime!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share a thought....

