Happiness Is…

Does anyone out there remember the “Love Is…” cartoon? It was one panel, featuring two discreetly naked characters. I don’t recall if they had names, but it brought Adam and Eve to mind, in their simplicity. Each posting would have the title at the top, “Love Is…” and below would be something like, “sharing your only cookie”, or some such cuteness.

love-is necessity

Well, I was getting some house work done a couple days ago and this thought popped into my head, “What makes you happy?” (because it surely WASN’T the housework!) Which lead me to, “Happiness Is…” which is how I ended up remembering the “Love Is…” cartoon. See, it’s not so hard to follow my logic!

Anyhoo, I’ve been mulling this over, about happiness. What makes me happy? Truly, my tastes and needs are quite simple. For me, happiness is being with people who make me laugh. I cannot abide a Debbie/Danny Downer. If I want depression I can provide my own, Ta very much!

Happiness is also being alone. If you start to read my blog regularly you’ll realize that this is a recurring theme. Some people can’t stand being by themselves; they have to be constantly engaged and entertained. Me, I’m cool with being on my own.

Happiness is watching my children get along. Now, if you don’t have children you may not appreciate the happiness factor here. But I’ve heard stories of kids who abuse or ignore their siblings. Kids who grow up and part company and don’t give a tinker’s damn if they ever see their brothers and sisters again. It’s sad. Luckily, although my 3 have their moments, turning me into a UN negotiator, they generally get along really well.

Happiness is being in relatively good health. I’m not running marathons. The bones and muscles and sinewy bits do a lot of cursing when it’s time to get up BUT….I’m able-bodied and disease free. And let me add to that being of sound mind.

Happiness is being in a stable, happy marriage. And I’m not saying it’s the Cosby’s up in here, no sir. We have our grumblings and such. But the love is strong and has been reinforced over time to withstand the batterings of life.

I’d say all in all I’ve got a pretty good hang on what happiness is to me.

Ok, it’s your turn. What’s Happiness to you?

About Bella

I've reached my 40's with a few battle scars, but I'm still in one piece so I guess that's something to be thankful for. Married for a long time...well, what passes for long compared to many of my other friends. Almost 20 years. 3 kids: a teen and two tweens. Heaven help me! There's a lot about me to know but I always think that others won't find me interesting, isn't that sad? Writing is my passion. It's an outlet; it's a way to filter my world and the experiences I have. Blogging was a foreign concept to me when it first came out. But I GET IT now. It's therapeutic to unload. It's fun to read about the experiences of others. This is my way of meeting and greeting, overcoming the obstacles of time and distance. My hope is that you will stop and read my blog. That you will enjoy what I have to say, and we can have a chat. You're welcome anytime!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happiness Is…

  1. acinstructor says:

    Happiness is the ability to love others like you love your own child.
    Happiness is living in harmony with all beings, including the self.
    Happiness is finding true love in every aspect of life.

Share a thought....

