An iCASE of Discrimination

Right then. I was at the mall today doing a bit of pre-summer shopping, and decided to look for a new cell phone case. My preference leans toward the “blingy” type of case. You know the ones: hard and flashy. Not much use if you drop your phone, but by cracky don’t it look good just before it hits the floor when you fumble and drop it! Admittedly they aren’t super practical, but they look a darn sight better than the flimsy jelly cases. Pet peeve #224: when you have a rubber case on your cellphone, it doesn’t sliiiide into your pocket, you have to force it in there. Not cool.

So off I go to the place that sells cellphone cases and other cellphone paraphernalia, and I ask the dude behind the counter if he has hard cases for my brand of phone (which I will reveal in a moment). For you see, my current blingy phone covering has been shedding blingies at a disturbing rate, leaving the decidedly un-blingy foundation exposed. Also, not cool.

Cellphone store dude says to me, no they haven’t got any hard cases for my phone, which is an HTC One S. Now, let me just throw this in here….I freakin’ LOVE my HTC! It’s just as good as any other Smart phone out there, but it’s not one that many people have. I am an HTC island in a sea of Samsungs, BlackBerrys and iPhones 1-5. Which is fine with me, because I’ve never liked doing exactly what everyone else is doing, anyway.

And now we come to the crux of the matter. Being unique can occasionally work against you. Such was the case (see what I did there?? case and case!!) with my beloved HTC. Because for some reason, whoever is in charge of cellphone case production, keeps leaving me and my phone out in the cold. I can walk into any cellphone store, Best Buy, Walmart, heck probably even 7-11, and get an iProduct. But trying to find something that is HTC friendly is like trying to find Waldo in a candy cane factory. Yeh. It’s that hard.

Cellphone dude then told me that there were OtterBoxes available for HTC. Ok. Not bad. If you don’t know what an OtterBox is then check this out:
otterbox-iphone-case These cases are like safes for your phone; hard on the outside and soft on the inside, the better to cushion the blow if dropped. They generally run from about $35-50. It’s a great purchase, because they last a long time, being relatively indestructible.

So I say to cellphone dude, show me an OtterBox. He steps over to the wall lined with said boxes, and looks long and hard for the HTC OtterBox. And he comes back with…..the black one. For $50. SIGH. What about the pretty coloured ones, I ask him, tears of frustration welling up in my eyes. Cuz I’ll gladly pay mucho dinero for a good lookin’ case but not the one that looks like licorice. I hate licorice. Those coloured cases are for iPhone, he says. Lord love a duck! Re-JECTED!!

Needless to say, I left cellphone dude and his sorry black OtterBox behind. I don’t want to say that I don’t like iProducts. I have an iPod 1st Gen, I think. So I’m not entirely anti-iStuff. It’s just that someone out there has to understand, there are other phones besides iPhone. It’s kinda like iPhones are the blondes of the world. Everyone thinks they’re more fun, they’re more popular, they get more attention. Well guess what, my HTC is a redhead…fiery, feisty and fabulous! Alas, it is also still caseless. The search continues…..

About Bella

I've reached my 40's with a few battle scars, but I'm still in one piece so I guess that's something to be thankful for. Married for a long time...well, what passes for long compared to many of my other friends. Almost 20 years. 3 kids: a teen and two tweens. Heaven help me! There's a lot about me to know but I always think that others won't find me interesting, isn't that sad? Writing is my passion. It's an outlet; it's a way to filter my world and the experiences I have. Blogging was a foreign concept to me when it first came out. But I GET IT now. It's therapeutic to unload. It's fun to read about the experiences of others. This is my way of meeting and greeting, overcoming the obstacles of time and distance. My hope is that you will stop and read my blog. That you will enjoy what I have to say, and we can have a chat. You're welcome anytime!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share a thought....

