The Weight Loss Waltz

It’s the thing to do around my workplace right now. It’s all females, and at any given time at least 3 people are on some kind of diet/weight loss/exercise regime. Personally, I’ve been on that ride for most of my life, especially since I’ve had my kids. When you’re in your 20’s it’s much easier to find the time to workout because, for the most part, you aren’t yet burdened with familial responsibilities. Once you reach your 40’s and you’ve got the spouse, the house, the kids and ALL that comes with it, that slice of time shrinks to the size of a raisin.

Do I LOOK like I have time to workout??!!

Do I LOOK like I have time to workout??!!

It’s never been an easy thing for me, to lose weight. It was always a ONE-TWO Step thing. One step forward (lost 5 pounds this week :)), two steps back (gained back 3 on the weekend šŸ˜¦ ) And for those of you who have also done this dance, you know that the ONE-TWO Step often leads to the Pity Party Shuffle. You’re upset about the few pounds you’ve put back on, so you drown yourself in ice cream, pasta, spoonfuls of peanut butter, whatever calms that storm within you. This brings you back to the beginning of the dance. You know, Monday morning you wake up and declare to the world: TODAY I START A-FRESH!!! And round and round she goes…

woman on scale

I’ve never taken much stock in Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, Dr Bernstein or any of the other paid weight loss systems. It’s hard enough losing weight without losing money on top of it. I also take issue with some celebrity (who’s been PAID to do the program) telling me how easy it is. Yeh. It’s easy for you alright, you can afford the pre-packaged foods, a personal weight trainer, AND the time to exercise. Come live my life, take care of my 3 kids and a husband, work an 8 hour day and come home to laundry, homework, and a myriad of other chores, then tell me how freakin’ easy it is to lose weight. I’m talking to you, Jennifer Hudson.

But I do my best. Right now I’m following the Insanity workout meal plan. No..I’m not DOING the workout part, just the meals for now. Hey, don’t judge! One step at a time, right?

About Bella

I've reached my 40's with a few battle scars, but I'm still in one piece so I guess that's something to be thankful for. Married for a long time...well, what passes for long compared to many of my other friends. Almost 20 years. 3 kids: a teen and two tweens. Heaven help me! There's a lot about me to know but I always think that others won't find me interesting, isn't that sad? Writing is my passion. It's an outlet; it's a way to filter my world and the experiences I have. Blogging was a foreign concept to me when it first came out. But I GET IT now. It's therapeutic to unload. It's fun to read about the experiences of others. This is my way of meeting and greeting, overcoming the obstacles of time and distance. My hope is that you will stop and read my blog. That you will enjoy what I have to say, and we can have a chat. You're welcome anytime!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Weight Loss Waltz

  1. Bella, weight loss is always difficult. It’s almost like being a recovering addict in that it’s a life struggle. Diet is 70% of it, so starting w/ Insanity meal plan is good. Stay focused, be strong, and you will prevail.

    • Bella says:

      Thanks TJ….My husband is doing the workout, and we’re eating the meals together. It feels good to eat right, and go for power walks when I can. And you are so right about it being like a recovering addict, this is exactly how I describe it. I appreciate the encouragement šŸ™‚

Share a thought....

