The Rejects

I’d been thinking about them all day: long and lean, golden brown, and hot…oh so HOT! Chicken strips and fries!! Since I’ve changed my eating habits (leaner meats, more whole wheat, lots of water, blah blah blah), I’ve been feeling good, but I still crave certain things. Yesterday, it was deep fried and crispy that was on my mind. We stopped by the fish n chips place on the way home, got the goods and off we went.

It was Friday night, end of another crazy week, and I was looking forward to a nice quiet evening. Got my jim-jams on, got those strips and fries on the plate and dug in. It wasn’t a lot, mind you; I’m also being portion-aware at meal times, so the plate wasn’t piled high.

Can't ya just smell it?!

Can’t ya just smell it?!

You know when you think, dream, ache for something and when you get it, its not the way you imagined it would be? Yeh. That was my dinner last night. But I ate it. In for a penny, in for a pound. Everything seemed fine for a while. Within a couple of hours though, things were decidedly un-fine. If I may borrow a line from a book I read a long time ago, and I may be paraphrasing somewhat, “what went wrong, went wrong quickly”. I’ll spare you the gory details, but let me put it this way: Picture if you will a newly renovated house, fresh coat of paint, new furniture, hardwood floor. Lovingly maintained by a dedicated crew of housekeepers. Now imagine that you bring a wild boar into the house and let him run free for a few hours. Imagine the damage, the carnage, the wreckage. Ok. My newly renovated body had been ravaged by the reintroduction of heavily fried foods and gave it the boot!

UGH!

UGH!

It was a rough half hour. But I went to sleep, and have awakened feeling renewed. And honestly, I’m not sorry about what happened. The fact that some of the foods I love are no longer loveable is really not a problem. Living a life that’s good for you is hard, it involves sacrifice. However, I haven’t ditched all treats; I let it slip a little every now and again because there’s only so much low fat/high protein I can handle. And from previous experience I’ve learned that complete denial is disastrous. I don’t know what some of my other beloved foods will do to me, those waters have yet to be tested. But I do know that walking past the fish n chips place is something I can happily and easily do from now on.

About Bella

I've reached my 40's with a few battle scars, but I'm still in one piece so I guess that's something to be thankful for. Married for a long time...well, what passes for long compared to many of my other friends. Almost 20 years. 3 kids: a teen and two tweens. Heaven help me! There's a lot about me to know but I always think that others won't find me interesting, isn't that sad? Writing is my passion. It's an outlet; it's a way to filter my world and the experiences I have. Blogging was a foreign concept to me when it first came out. But I GET IT now. It's therapeutic to unload. It's fun to read about the experiences of others. This is my way of meeting and greeting, overcoming the obstacles of time and distance. My hope is that you will stop and read my blog. That you will enjoy what I have to say, and we can have a chat. You're welcome anytime!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Rejects

  1. carla says:

    sorry you had a rough time. just shows how badly ‘bad’ food can actually effect us!

Share a thought....

