Under The Dome

Good day to you, my faithful followers! It’s been a while, I know….I’m sorry. But life has a way of throwing curve balls at you, and when you think you’re gonna hit a home run, it ends up being a foul. To be honest, I don’t really know too much about baseball, so I’m not sure if that’s accurate or not, but I think you get my drift!

I’ve been busy, to say it simply. One would think that having the kids home for the summer would make life easier, but it doesn’t work that way!  Being home every day gives them more time to mess the house up and more time to eat the place down. Also more time to annoy each other (and me because I have to hear about it), since its been too hot and humid for me to tell them all to outside and play.

There are small pockets of peace. Not a big deep pocket, mind you. More like that small pocket within a pocket at the front of your jeans. You know the one? It’s so tiny you can only fit two fingers in there so it means careful planning to decide what gets put in that tiny little space. That’s how small my pockets of peace are.

My peace pockets are dug into in the evening, after I’ve tended to my flock, and hung up my crook for the night, I sit down to watch my shows. One that I’m into is Under The Dome. It’s a  new series based on the Stephen King novel of the same name. The premise of the story is this: the inhabitants of a small idyllic town go about their daily business of shady deals gone bad, kidnapping and backroom conspiracies, when a mysteious dome SUDDENLY drops from the sky! It is invisble and impenetrable and the citizens are trapped…some on the inside, and some (who work or live beyond where the dome fell) on the outside. Sound cannot pass through it, rains seeps through it. They are trapped.

I read the book a few years ago, and was eager to see a tv adaptation.  But more than being a good read, Under the Dome describes my life. Remember the curve ball I mentioned before? It’s actually been curve balls, spirals, loop de loops being lobbed at me. There’s been some deep ish to deal with. And its sad that sometimes when there’s crap to handle you have to do it on your own. I am in a bubble….floating along, helpless, unheard.

It’s not to say that I have no friends or family. But the the fact is that feeling overwhelmed over-rides any assistance and understanding your loved ones may provide.

I’m watching UTD each week to see how the tv version plays out compared to the book. I’m also hoping to gain some insight into how to emerge unscathed from my dome.

About Bella

I've reached my 40's with a few battle scars, but I'm still in one piece so I guess that's something to be thankful for. Married for a long time...well, what passes for long compared to many of my other friends. Almost 20 years. 3 kids: a teen and two tweens. Heaven help me! There's a lot about me to know but I always think that others won't find me interesting, isn't that sad? Writing is my passion. It's an outlet; it's a way to filter my world and the experiences I have. Blogging was a foreign concept to me when it first came out. But I GET IT now. It's therapeutic to unload. It's fun to read about the experiences of others. This is my way of meeting and greeting, overcoming the obstacles of time and distance. My hope is that you will stop and read my blog. That you will enjoy what I have to say, and we can have a chat. You're welcome anytime!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Under The Dome

  1. thechailatte says:

    Ooh UTD is on over here in Aus too, and i’m very sucked in. The latest episode that has aired here is the same as over where you are I think. I like the way you see it as a parallel to your own life. I’ve never thought of that whilst watching it but I always think of my ‘baggage’ as a bubble that stops people, positivity and feelings to come in, and people, positivity and feelings to get out..

Share a thought....

