My Tech Addiction

I’m an addict. I’m hooked. Undeniably, unequivocally, uncomfortably, strung out. Drugs? No. Well, unless you count popping Advil like candies when I get a wicked headache….but no, not drugs. Coke is my kryptonite; I find it hard to resist a cold one on a hot day. But since I can, and have on many occasions, said no to one, it’s not that either.

What’s got me jonesin’? Technology. I am a tech hound. By no means am I tech savvy, no sir! If the printer jams I call my hubby or my son. When I can’t get my iPod to function properly, panic ensues. I have very little understanding about how electronic things work. Satellites, smart phones, meterology….it’s all rocket science to me because I just don’t get it. There is no way I could fudge my way through even a beginner tech course if my life depended on it.

Confession is good for the soul they say, so I’ll step into the Confessional, kneel down and let it all out. If I’m not on the computer, or on my phone, then I’m thinking about being on my computer or on my phone. At various times throughout the day I whip out my phone (discreetly, if I’m at work, of course!), and check my email, catch up on news via Twitter, or post something cool or silly or random to Instagram.

I get updates from the various stores where I shop frequently; BOGO at Payless! 50% off summer sale at Ardene! Back to school sale at Marshalls! The various blogs I follow here at WordPress are also beamed to my phone whenever there’s a new posting.

On my way home, as I check things on my phone, I quickly make a mental run of how many household chores stand between me and my laptop use. More than reading. More than watching tv. I love to spend time on the computer.

It wasn’t always this way; as a stay at home mom, with 3 young’uns I just truly did not have the time for it. And back then, in the early 2000’s there just wasn’t that much online that interested me. Ahhh, but times have changed, haven’t they! And now there is wayyyy too much to capture my attention.

Msn.com on my homepage….then Facebook…Pinterest….WordPress….Etsy…and random topic searches on Google (what sound DOES a giraffe make????). Should I mention that while I cruise the WWW, I may also be texting and checking out new apps on my phone?? Yeh, may as well. The more confession, the gooder it is for my soul!

My children often tease me, saying I’m worse than a teenager, always on my phone and the computer. Meh. Can’t argue with the facts….Oohh, what a nice sunset!! Gotta take a pic for Instagram!

About Bella

I've reached my 40's with a few battle scars, but I'm still in one piece so I guess that's something to be thankful for. Married for a long time...well, what passes for long compared to many of my other friends. Almost 20 years. 3 kids: a teen and two tweens. Heaven help me! There's a lot about me to know but I always think that others won't find me interesting, isn't that sad? Writing is my passion. It's an outlet; it's a way to filter my world and the experiences I have. Blogging was a foreign concept to me when it first came out. But I GET IT now. It's therapeutic to unload. It's fun to read about the experiences of others. This is my way of meeting and greeting, overcoming the obstacles of time and distance. My hope is that you will stop and read my blog. That you will enjoy what I have to say, and we can have a chat. You're welcome anytime!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share a thought....

