The Finish Line

As I sip my tea, resting on a pile of pillows, I’m rethinking the events of this week. It’s been great having time to be with the kids without the stress of work or bills or chores interfering. The demands of our jobs make it hard sometimes for hubby and I to get time of when we want and need it; it’s been about 3 or 4 years since we’be had a full week off at the same time, and it’s been a real treat.

Yesterday was wrap up day, so to speak. We’d done all the big ticket activities earlier this week, and wanted to keep things simple but not stop cold. So swimming was just the ticket! 👙
Fortunately we have a very nice recreation centre just minutes away, which features a library, youth drop in rooms, skate park, and a pool. We chose an open swim time (certain hours when the pool isn’t being used for lessons) and headed out.

I don’t swim. I can sort of doggy paddle and I can kinda float. The furthest I’ve ever been when it  came to lessons, was in grade 3, when the Board of Ed provides children with a 3 day crash course in water safety. And…I’m a bit of a chicken TBH. I love the water, I could stay in it all day whether it’s pool or beach. I just stay close to the edge…

Luckily my children didn’t inherit my hesitancy, they jump right in. They’ve had the grade 3 lessons, plus whatever my husband and their grandfather have added to that. It’s pure joy to watch them move smoothly and fearlessly through the water. Not so much my son tho, he’s not into the swim thing, doesn’t see the point. “Does there need to be a point to getting into a pool and splashing around?” I asked myself the question, just thankful for the fact he came without complaint. He’ll be 16 in a month and this age is tricky! This is one of the reasons why it’s so important to us to do this kind of thing. Anyone who’s a parent of tweens and teens realizes that there is a thing line between when the kids want to be with you and when they don’t. For me, I stopped wanting to be around my mom when I hit 14 or so. Thankfully hubby and I have not yet haven’t had to deal with this yet, but one never knows when that hammer will fall!

We splashed, we laughed, we got out and came home. Hubby threw some meat on the grill, had a nap then later went to soccer with my son. 🍔⚽There was a feeling of finality in the air. Yes, there’s still today and the weekend, but there’s also the reality. Money can’t be spent indefinitely, clothes are piling up, fast food all week makes you sluggish, and it’s back to work on Monday. Every good vacation must come to an end. But it was a good run and I’m so very happy about it, hopefully it won’t be too long before we get to do it again!:D

Thanks for stopping by! 🌸

About Bella

I've reached my 40's with a few battle scars, but I'm still in one piece so I guess that's something to be thankful for. Married for a long time...well, what passes for long compared to many of my other friends. Almost 20 years. 3 kids: a teen and two tweens. Heaven help me! There's a lot about me to know but I always think that others won't find me interesting, isn't that sad? Writing is my passion. It's an outlet; it's a way to filter my world and the experiences I have. Blogging was a foreign concept to me when it first came out. But I GET IT now. It's therapeutic to unload. It's fun to read about the experiences of others. This is my way of meeting and greeting, overcoming the obstacles of time and distance. My hope is that you will stop and read my blog. That you will enjoy what I have to say, and we can have a chat. You're welcome anytime!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share a thought....

