ROAR!

Katy Perry said it. Helen Reddy said it. Countless unknown and unrecognized women across time and continents have said it. I am woman hear me ROAR!

Women can be and are just as powerful, smart, cunning, savvy as men. We can organize,  lead, unite just as well as men. We are no better and certainly, no less than men. But media would have us think otherwise.

I’m a big fan of documentaries, particularly those that explore human behaviour. It’s the psych student in me! Anyway, this afternoon I watched a docu called Miss Representation. It’s about the media portrayal of women, and how those images are affecting the girls who view them.

As a one time girl, and a mother of two girls (and a son but it’s not his turn right now) who are on the cusp of adolescence, these issues are a huge deal for me. I won’t go into all the problems with how women are presented stereotypically, and in a highly demeaning light. This is well documented and in our faces on a daily basis.

But more voices need to be heard on this matter. Mainly from women, from mothers of daughters and from the girls themselves. What could be a better message of empowerment than to encourage your daughters to stand up for themselves.

And let us not forget the boys. Yes, this is the part where my son jumps in. Because what girls hear is “you’re not pretty, thin, or desirable enough”. What the boys hear is “a girls looks, and sexual availability are all that matter”. Wrong message, on both counts.

Everyone should see Miss Representation. My aim is to try to get it viewed at the school my kids attend; it means that much to me. I found it on Netflix, but it may be available on other sites. You can also follow on Twitter (@RepresentPledge)

So, ladies on the count of three… Let me hear you ROAR!!

Thanks for stopping by! 🌸

About Bella

I've reached my 40's with a few battle scars, but I'm still in one piece so I guess that's something to be thankful for. Married for a long time...well, what passes for long compared to many of my other friends. Almost 20 years. 3 kids: a teen and two tweens. Heaven help me! There's a lot about me to know but I always think that others won't find me interesting, isn't that sad? Writing is my passion. It's an outlet; it's a way to filter my world and the experiences I have. Blogging was a foreign concept to me when it first came out. But I GET IT now. It's therapeutic to unload. It's fun to read about the experiences of others. This is my way of meeting and greeting, overcoming the obstacles of time and distance. My hope is that you will stop and read my blog. That you will enjoy what I have to say, and we can have a chat. You're welcome anytime!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share a thought....

